Garcinia cambogia diet shake reviews

Garcinia cambogia diet shake reviews
You can cut craving for sugar by giving your body the amino acids it needs to correct your particular imbalance.

Garcinia Cambogia: Safe for Weight Loss?

In this Article

In this Article

In this Article

Garcinia cambogia, a tropical fruit also known as the Malabar tamarind, is a popular weight-loss supplement. People say it blocks your body's ability to make fat and it puts the brakes on your appetite. It could help keep blood sugar and cholesterol levels in check, too. You'll find it in bottles on the shelf at the store as well as mixed with other ingredients in diet products.

Does it live up to its hype? Maybe a little, but it might not be worth it.

How It Works

The active ingredient in the fruit's rind, hydroxycitric acid, or HCA, has boosted fat-burning and cut back appetite in studies. It appears to block an enzyme called citrate lyase, which your body uses to make fat. It also raises levels of the brain chemical serotonin, which may make you feel less hungry.

But actual weight loss results aren't impressive. A review published in the Journal of Obesityfound that people who took garcinia cambogia in studies lost about 2 pounds more than people who didn't take it. The reviewers couldn't say for sure that the weight loss was because of the supplement. It could have been from the lower-calorie diet and exercise programs the people in the studies typically followed. Better studies are needed to find out if HCA really helps people lose a lot of weight and keep it off.

Type 2 Diabetes and High Cholesterol

Garcinia cambogia may make it easier for your body to use glucose, the sugar your cells need for energy. Mice that got garcinia cambogia in one study had lower insulin levels than mice that didn't. That's another reason, besides weight loss, that people with diabetes are interested in it. However, if you're taking garcinia cambogia along with a medication to control your blood sugar, your glucose could get dangerously low.

Some research has found that garcinia cambogia can also improve cholesterol levels, lowering triglycerides and LDL (the "bad" cholesterol) and raising HDL (the "good" cholesterol). But you shouldn't use it if you're already on a prescription for your cholesterol.

Possible Side Effects

When you take garcinia cambogia, you might get:

In 2009, the Food and Drug Administration warned everyone to stop using a weight-loss product that contained garcinia cambogia because some people taking it got serious liver problems. The product had other ingredients, too, so it's not clear that garcinia cambogia was to blame. While some research suggests the supplement is safe for your liver, other research says no.

Garcinia cambogia may interact badly with:

You definitely don't want to use it when you're pregnant or nursing, or if you have kidney or liver problems. It is possible that manic symptoms may emerge as a side effect.

To Buy or Not to Buy

Since study results are mixed, you should talk with your doctor to help you decide if taking garcinia cambogia is a good idea. Even if it's safe, it may not help you lose much weight. It's probably wiser to spend your money on healthy food or an exercise DVD.

Onakpoya, I. Journal of Obesity, 2011.

NYU Langone Medical Center: "Weight Loss Aids."

Byrne, S. Consumer Reports, March 24, 2014.

Wielinga, P.Y. American Journal of Physiology, June 1, 2005.

Leonhardt, M. Nutrition, October 2004.

Hayamizu, K. Fitoterapia, April 2003.

Preuss, H. Nutrition Research, January 2004.

Preuss, H. Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism, May 2004.

Preuss, H. International Journal of Clinical Pharmacology Research, February 2005.

Drugs.com: "Garcinia (hydroxycitric acid)."

Kim, Y. World Journal of Gastroenterology, Aug. 7, 2013.

Stohs, S. Toxicology Mechanisms and Methods, November 2010.

Clouatre, D. World Journal of Gastroenterology, Nov. 28, 2013.

Marquez, F. Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition, Issue 7, 2012.

Medscape: "Leukotriene Receptor Antagonists."

Garcinia Cambogia Reviews

Garcinia Cambogia is a tiny fruit that is part of the tamarind fruit family.

Does the popular garcinia cambogia extract give you a ton of side effects, too?

It is roughly the size of an orange and is a native species of Southeast Asia.

Many of the cultures in Southeast Asia use Garcinia Cambogia extensively in the preparation of their meals and sauces, for example chutney sauce.

Garcinia Cambogia was first introduced to the diet market in early 2012. The very first wave of diet participants yielded significant weight loss results, and those results were published.

Not long after that, a noted researcher in supplements appeared on a popular tv doctor’s show.

The doctor was so impressed with the results that he referred to it as “an exciting breakthrough in natural weight loss”.

After that, the product exploded in popularity and has become one of the most requested diet supplements on the market today.

How Garcinia Cambogia Works

The main active ingredient in Garcinia Cambodia is HCA (hydroxycitric acid).

HCA has been demonstrated in clinical studies to inhibit fat production and increase metabolism.

And the best part is that it helps suppress the appetite.

Numerous clinical studies have demonstrated that Garcinia Cambogia will:

  • Help you lose weight 2X – 3X faster
  • Help you suppress your appetite
  • Help your body to block fat production
  • Help direct the liver to burn food calories instead of storing them as fat
  • Help change body composition by increasing lean muscle mass and decreasing fat
  • Help decrease bad cholesterol by 10% – 30%

You are required to take one capsule before each meal with an 8 ounce glass of water. The dosage requires three capsules per day.

There are not any known side effects with Garcinia Cambogia.

Dietary supplements are never recommended for pregnant women, individuals that might have a medical condition, or children. Therefore, you should always check with your doctor if you have any questions at all.

Garcinia Cambogia Customer Reviews

Here are two recent customer reviews from Garcinia Cambogia Select actual users:

I tried to lose those extra 25 pounds for years. It was a constant roller coaster ride despite trying various diet and exercise plans. Then I came across Garcinia Cambogia Select online and I’m truly amazed by the results.

I’ve been walking around with an extra 25 – 50 pounds ever since college. I learned about Garcinia Cambogia Select from this site a few months back and can’t believe the results!

Garcinia Cambogia Interesting Side Notes

As with any dietary supplement, garcinia cambogia extract has been shown to work best if you include exercise as part of your daily regimen.

Many dieters have noted a rather significant decrease in tummy fat, and this is caused by the way that garcinia cambogia controls the stress hormone cortisol.

Another interesting fact is that clinical studies have shown that garcinia cambogia increases a person serotonin level.

Serotonin is known to elevate your mood, and it therefore decreases hunger.

A Reputable Garcinia Cambogia Extract Provider

There have been many diet and supplement fads over the years, but garcinia cambogia has proven to be one of the most effective diet supplements we have seen in years.

Because of the publicity craze that happened when garcinia cambogia extract was first released, a lot of knockoff providers flooded the market with substandard supplements.

We have taken every precaution to find a reputable garcinia cambogia brand that meets USDA standards.

This manufacturer also offers a tremendous deal for dieters purchasing more than one bottle:

Garcinia Cambogia Review

Garcinia Cambogia is one of the most fun ways to lose weight since all you need to do is take a pill 3 times per day.

The fact that one product can reduce fat in your body, decrease your appetite, accelerate your weight loss and convert fat into lean muscle is quite amazing.

This is one of the most powerful diet supplements we have ever reviewed.

For just $48, you can get started on this diet with a full one month supply.

As with all diet supplements, no one ever mentions exercise.

This time range may be arbitrary, but the only evidence we have suggests that this is an effective approach.

This website has nothing to do with Garcinia Cambogia Max Slim, this is purely a review.

You still want to incorporate additional activity and exercise into your schedule to get fit.

Garcinia Cambogia is one of those exceptional diet supplements that has dumbfounded the scientific and dieting communities.

The product is able to block fat production which is a pretty unusual feat among diet products.

There are no known side effects. Dieters have been ecstatic about how quickly they were able to lose weight and firm up.

Garcinia Cambogia Review: What You Need To Know

What's Inside This Guide

What’s all the fuss about? Well, this fruit rind extract has been touted as a revolutionary way to lose fat, tone up and suppress those cravings all in one natural supplement. With virtually no side effects, not like the awful buzz of too much caffeine or the nauseous feeling that many appetite suppressants can bring, this supplement was featured on the Dr Oz show, where his team of dedicated professionals explained just how this new pill could help the body to use its excess fat stores AND block the ability to build new fat reserves whilst reducing the stress level cortisone.

So if you’re like me, and hold your excess weight around your middle, this could be the perfect solution. But, the reviews out there have been mixed with some people seeing good results and others seeing very little indeed. Could it be that this secret ingredient is nothing more than a marketing ploy, or are we being cheated by unscrupulous companies while we chase our dreams of a tighter, more toned body? I thought I’d check out GCE from my favorite store and see whether this really is a miracle weight loss supplement.

What is Garcinia Cambogia?

Before we get to the supplement, dosage, side effects and so on, I thought I’d include a little information about the source of the supplement. Garcinia Cambogia Extract is taken from the rind of the malaban tamarind fruit, a fruit native to South East Asia and India. It has been used medicinally and in food preparation in its native home for centuries, because it has been said to boast the following properties:

  • Souring agent, used in traditional Indian or South East Asian hot and sour curries[1]
  • Used for bowel problems and rheumatism[2]
  • Contains HCA (Hydroxycitric Acid) which has been under the spotlight for weight loss
  • Food preservative, coloring agent and curing agent
  • Used as a carmative to prevent or expel excess gas formed in the GI tract[3]

How is Garcinia Cambogia linked to weight loss?

Garcinia Cambogia is said to boost weight loss in two different ways. Firstly, it blocks the enzyme in the liver that is responsible for the default function of converting sugar and carbs to fat. So instead of the fat cells getting plumper, GCE ‘plugs’ the fat cells and directs any sugar and carbs to the energy stores to be burnt off. The body is processing less fat and is under less stress, so less cortisol (the belly fat-creating hormone) is produced. The second way that it works is by sending signals to the brain that release more serotonin, our happy hormone, and this happiness stops us craving stress foods like sugar, carbs and salty foods and could have a positive impact on appetite suppression. For more information about how Garcinia Cambogia works, please visit my review of the Dr Oz show.

About Garcinia Cambogia and its clinical studies

Several clinical studies have been undertaken to assess the efficacy of Garcinia Cambogia. At the moment the research is a little patchy and generally the medical community recommends more testing. I’ve written a longer article focused on Garcinia Cambogia research and clinical trials, but have included a summary right here for you:

  • In a four week trial[4], 150 obese subjects saw a significant, dose-dependent decrease in weight, LDL cholesterol and triglycerides, and an improvement in good cholesterol
  • In an eight week trial[5], 40 subjects saw an increase in weight loss against the placebo group
  • In a 12 week trial[6] with a reduced calorie diet, the group lost nearly three times as much weight as the placebo group
  • In a 4 week trial[7] with a reduced calorie diet, 89 mildly overweight women saw an increase in weight loss against the placebo group, but noted no discernible change to appetite
  • In an eight week trial[8] with a low fat diet and at least 64oz water consumption per day, 54 overweight subjects lost an average of 11.2lb per person
  • In an eight week trial[9] with a low fat diet and moderate (three times per week) exercise, 60 obese subjects saw a greater weight loss and reduction of appetite than the placebo group
  • In a 16 week trial[10] with a low fat diet and moderate exercise, all 39 subjects saw a reduction in belly fat and gained none of it when given a placebo for four weeks

Go to any medical site and they will be the first to say that the supplement and ingredients such as HCA need a ton more research.

This study examined the effects of Garcinia cambogia extract on mice over a period of 4 weeks.

It’s the same with any new herbal supplement I guess. But the research that’s taken place to date is certainly encouraging.

Is It Trusted And Safe To Use?

Genuine Garcinia Cambogia has been noted to have been ‘well tolerated’ for up to 12 weeks in human trials. Whilst this is a little vague, it means that there are generally few adverse reactions. Be sure to read the ‘who should take Garcinia Cambogia’ section below, for a list of who should avoid the supplement.

Who Is Garcinia Cambogia For?

Being a natural supplement, there are few people that should avoid taking Garcinia Cambogia. However, until more research has been undertaken, it is recommended that the following people should avoid it, or use it under medical supervision:

  • Patients with diabetes (high blood sugar) or hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) should avoid the supplement
  • Patients taking any medication that affect blood sugar should use Garcinia Cambogia under medical supervision
  • Patients with a high risk or history of rhabdomyolysis (a potentially fatal disease involving the degeneration of skeletal muscle) should use Garcinia Cambogia under medical supervision
  • Patients taking statins, should exercise caution as the combined medicines may increase the risk of rhabdomyolysis
  • Those with Alzheimer’s or other forms of dementia should avoid Garcinia Cambogia because of the theoretical possibility of forming acetylcholine in the brain
  • Those trying to conceive, pregnant or breastfeeding should avoid until further scientific evidence can be undertaken

For my full article on Garcinia Cambogia, including dosage and potential side effects, please click here.

My Favorite Garcinia Supplement?

Once you’ve decided that you want to try Garcinia Cambogia, the most important element is finding the right supplier. I’m not pushing any particular brand as it can be difficult to know whether a brand has been replicated and is not in fact genuine. I know of at least two well-known doctors/celebs that have had to put out alerts to their users saying that they are NOT endorsing a particular brand of Garcinia Cambogia, as there are a lot of unscrupulous companies out there selling fake or poor quality goods. I strongly recommend this brand at Amazon. After buying from them, I received great customer support and they were able to provide proof that their Garcinia Cambogia had been tested by a third party lab.

In general, I would say:

  • Use a trusted brand or store like Amazon
  • Read online reviews about your chosen brand carefully
  • Check the small print and reviews if you choose a ‘money back guarantee’ option, make sure that people that have returned the product for whatever reason have actually got refunds
  • Choose a supplement that has at least 50% HCA
  • Choose a supplement that contains minerals such as potassium and chromium, as these seem to have better reviews online
  • Choose a supplement that contains at least 600mg per day
  • Choose a supplement free from fillers or binders

Taking Garcinia Cambogia

I chose a supplement to try from my local and trusted health food store, and took 500mg three times per day.

**ULTRA-IMPORTANT** It’s critical that you take the supplements on an empty stomach, around 30-60 minutes before a meal. Food will interact with the supplement and reduce its efficacy. Also, I’m not sure of the science behind this, but I recall one study saw fewer results because the subjects were on a high fiber diet. Somehow that interfered, so eat a balanced healthy diet rich in vegetables, fruit, lean meats and good fats.

I took a supplement that also contained potassium, because I trusted Dr Oz!!

Because Leaky Gut is so common, and such an enigma, I’m offering a free webinar on all things leaky gut.

I didn’t take any additional extracts as I wanted to see what this supplement did on its own.

So I took the pills three times a day, on an empty stomach. Unlike some supplements I’ve taken, I had no nausea or restlessness, you know like those buzzy caffeine pills. After drinking each one with a big glass of water, it’s common sense that an hour later you’ll be less hungry than you were, but my appetite was definitely more satiated than if I’d just had water.

The results were pretty much from day one, I was less hungry and ate slightly smaller meals, but the biggest effect I saw was in the type of food I wanted and the impact on my snacking. I know that my excess weight is down to my continual grazing, I eat pretty healthy but I can’t sleep unless I’ve had a full carb-loaded meal. And – ladies – at THAT time of the month I have an insatiable appetite for candy, chocolate, crisps, crackers…you name it! But in the three months that I took Garcinia Cambogia, my cravings all but disappeared. I ate when I was hungry (such a novelty for me, usually eating without even being aware of it) and saw the weight come off almost instantly.

I’ll be honest, we’re not talking total body transformations or anything. But I had stubborn belly fat that all types of exercise and diet had failed to get rid of for good. I guess I was carrying an extra 10lb over my ideal weight, and the majority of that was round my stomach. Garcinia Cambogia seemed to target that fat exclusively, which was a win-win for me as I didn’t want to lose any from my bust or butt. So in three months I lost around 9lb, but it was all from where I wanted it to go, and with no discernible change to my diet or exercise regime. I’m pretty fit so kept up the jogging and yoga, and it all seemed to work in harmony! I’ve now got a tighter waistline and am eating ‘mindfully’ for the first time in a hundred years!!

The million dollar question: Does Garcinia Cambogia work?

For me, it definitely worked. I saw reduced cravings to snack, and when I did eat, I was fuller faster, and on better quality foods. During my time of the month, I had little to no cravings. In fact, one time I went to the cinema and usually gorge on popcorn, but I only dipped in and out of this time (my husband was cursing me as he ended up eating it all!).

That said, it will only work if it’s a genuine product with a minimum 50% HCA. There are a lot of stores or vendors out there selling inferior products, which is why, in my mind, some people aren’t seeing the results they hoped.

What’s great about Garcinia Cambogia?

  • Natural supplement based on fruit used commonly for centuries
  • Helps curb cravings for sugar/salt/carbohydrates
  • Can boost weight loss, best used in conjunction with a healthy diet and moderate activity
  • No horrible side effects like nausea or headaches
  • Endorsed by doctors, models and celebrities
  • Cheap, compared to many supplements

Anything not so great?

  • Some people have seen minimal results – I say you can’t eat everything and expect to lose weight!
  • Some people have seen no results – I keep saying it, but check you’re buying from a reputable source and that the supplement contains at least 50% HCA
  • Can’t be used by those with blood sugar issues (see my full Side Effects of Garcinia Cambogia report)

What others are saying about Garcinia Cambogia?

I’ve researched many sources of Garcinia Cambogia users to bring you a consolidation of the most frequent opinions. In summary, there have been a lot of people ripped off and for them, they’ve lost money and not seen any results. For those that have bought reputable brands, they’ve seen moderate results which have been optimized by a healthy diet and moderate activity. Here are the views:

  • “I dropped from 13.5% to 11% body fat in time for my beauty show.”
  • “I have been taking for 2 weeks and have lost 8lbs, I love it!”
  • “I have been taking Garcinia Cambogia for 2 months and have lost 10lbs.”
  • “I have been taking it for two weeks and don’t see an extraordinary change, just 3lbs in two weeks.”
  • “After 1 week, I was surprised by the dramatic results…my energy levels were up and I wasn’t even hungry…after the fifth week my results were shocking.

    Claims made by Garcinia Cambogia Max Slim The following claims have been made on the Garcinia Cambogia Max Slim website: These claims are what you would expect to see on a Garcinia Cambogia supplement.

    I lost an unbelievable 23lbs.”

  • “I’ve been taking it for a week and gained 3lbs!”
  • “Never buy from a site that appeared 1 hour after the Dr Oz show.”
  • “Took for a month and no weight loss”
  • “I purchased mine at GNC after talking to the sales person. She said her husband lost 60 lbs but she has only lost 10, but she admitted he works out more.”

My opinion: A summary review of Garcinia Cambogia

It’s not often you can find something that helps you lose weight without changing your diet or exercise habits, but Garcinia Cambogia seems to do just that. I made no changes but saw a drop of 9lb over my trial period, I’m now down to my ideal weight and have lost it all from my belly. I bought from a store I trusted, and went for a supplement with over 50% HCA, and it really worked, particularly in curbing my grazing and snacking. As with any diet supplement, there will be rogue dealers out there so always check reviews before buying online, use recommended products or buy via your trusted store. Here’s to the body you’ve always wanted!

[4] Girola M, De Bernardi M, Contos S, et al. Dose effect in lipid-lowering activity of a new dietary integrator (chitosan), Garcinia combogia extract and chrome. Acta Toxicol Ther . 1996;17(1):25-40.

[5] Soni MG, Burdock GA, Preuss HG, Stohs SJ, Ohia SE, Bagchi D. Safety assessment of (-)-hydroxycitric acid and Super CitriMax, a novel calcium/potassium salt. Food Chem Toxicol . 2004;42(9):1513-1529.

[6] Thom E. A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of a new weight-reducing agent of natural origin. J Int Med Res . 2000;28(5):229-233.

[7] Mattes RD, Bormann L. Effects of (-)-hydroxycitric acid on appetitive variables. Physiol Behav . 2000;71(1-2):87-94.

[8] Lau FC, Bagchi M, Sen C, Roy S, Bagchi D. Nutrigenomic analysis of diet-gene interactions on functional supplements for weight management. Curr Genomics . 2008;9(4):239-251

[9] Lau FC, Bagchi M, Sen C, Roy S, Bagchi D. Nutrigenomic analysis of diet-gene interactions on functional supplements for weight management. Curr Genomics . 2008;9(4):239-251

[10] Hayamizu K, Ishii Y, Kaneko I, et al. Effects of Garcinia cambogia (hydroxycitric acid) on visceral fat accumulation: A double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial. CurrTher Res Clin Exp . 2003;64(8):551-567.