Garcinia cambogia reviews and results

Garcinia cambogia reviews and results
Hepatotoxicity by Dietary Supplements: A Tabular Listing and Clinical Characteristics.

My Results and Review of Pure Garcinia Cambogia Extract – Does it work?

New 2018 Update!

Pure Garcinia Cambogia Premium is one of the latest trendy supplements in the diet industry. It has been featured heavily in the media as a powerful weight loss aid — and even been called “the holy grail of weight loss” by some. It's one of the most potent legal weight loss supplements on the market.

Review updated January 21th 2018.

It is also said to boost your metabolism, increase your energy, and burn away even the most stubborn fat — the last pounds you just can't lose no matter how hard you work at it.

Sounds great, doesn't it? But remember this:

Like many diet aids it has been criticized as nothing more than a gimmick, a fad diet or an outright scam — however many trusted sources, including well known experts in the medical field, claim it delivers rapid weight loss.

With this inconclusive media coverage — some loving it, other hating it — I had to try it myself. I'm a blogger after all, and I figured this little test would be a good basis for a new article.

Table of Contents

Why I decided to test it

I tested Garcinia myself after I already started my journey towards a slimmer me — so I already knew how my body responded to diet and exercise “out of the box”. I therefore thought it would be interesting to see the difference.

This review will go into detail so you may have a better idea if this product is right for your weight loss journey.

Hopefully it will help you make a qualified decision, and I'm happy to answer any quetions you might have in the comments field below.

What is it exactly?

You may not know what exactly garcinia cambogia is except for the fact it seems to be featured in the media as the latest must have “super-food” that can blast away your unwanted body fat.

It is a tropical fruit (Also known as Garcinia gummi-gutta) native to Indonesia and looks like a small green colored pumpkin.

This fruit has been hailed as an all natural fat burner by various media sources, including Dr. Oz who has praised it to a great degree on his television show. This made the supplement's popularity soar like many other products he has featured on his program. Now this product is easily found for purchase both in health stores and online retailers — however, and this is important, not all Garcinia supplements are the same.

What are the benefits of Garcinia gummi-gutta?

This product is said to help you lose more weight than dieting and exercising alone. The company claims that in clinical trials those who took the supplement lost more than double the weight than those that did not in an eight week period. The active ingredient is hydroxycitric acid which is said to block fat and suppress your appetite.

It can inhibit an enzyme called citrate lyase which is supposed to make it more difficult for your body to make fat out of carbohydrates. Studies from the company performed on rats have shown decreased fat and a lack of appetite and their clinical trials on humans show similar results.

These studies seem to provide good evidence that the product is very effective.

The company's published studies might be convincing enough for you to try it. If you struggle with losing a single pound this might give your metabolism that extra kick to help you lose weight faster. It is also said to help with appetite control so if you are someone who suffers from binge eating this could completely zap your food cravings. Some users even find it's very easy to push away a plate of their favorite junk food. The desire to binge eat is simply not there anymore. You might even forget to eat but it's important to do so as eating too little combined with a diet supplement can make you feel very weak and woozy.

What you need to consider before you buy garcinia cambogia

There are some factors to consider whether to purchase this product, some of which you should think over if you do decide to buy it.

The first is the price of the supplement. As you can see, this can be costly for the average consumer, but if you are tired of trying to lose weight you may willing to pay any price. If I can lose weight faster, I would “make that money back” in other areas of my life, by having more energy, feeling more awake and healthier — and being able to spend more time with my family.

This product promises you will see dramatic fat loss without much change to your daily routine. For people who find it hard to find time to exercise or cook a healthy meal this can be a godsend.

But you soon realize that none of these so-called crash diets have helped you at all.

Between work, child care, and other daily activities, it is difficult to exercise and eat right when your life is so hectic. This is why this product is perfect for someone who is constantly on the go.

The dosage depends on the strength and amount per serving. All providers should give you a information sheet along with your product that explains the dosage, use and potential side-effects.

Like anything you take orally, there are some potential side effects. Thankfully, the side effects for this product are generally mild, ranging from headaches, nausea, and an upset stomach. If these symptoms worsen at anytime then it's wise to stop taking the supplement and contact your doctor. Many customers — even when experiencing these side effects — are so satisfied with their weight loss that these side effects are a small price to pay for achieving their goal weight so quickly and easily. At the very least these side effects are easily managed, and some users say they had absolutely no side effects at all.

User testimonials and reviews online – Garcinia cambogia results

You can also look at actual user testimonials online about this product to have an idea on how this product might affect your body — like this one. I personally like to read reviews, but it can be hard to find unbiased reviews with actual scientific backing. What I try to do here, is to give you both information on the product, provide references to peer-reviewed studies and offer my honest opinion.

Reviews online are generally favorable. There are a small handful of negative reviews but many customers are satisfied with their purchase. Most say that they tried every commercial diet or program and they only lost a few pounds at most, or even that they lost no weight at all, before they introduced this product into their life. These customers have called the product “miraculous” and that is was the only product that truly worked for them. Some users even claim to have lost up to 30 pounds in a few months when before they could barely lose five pounds.

For me; how did it work?

I didn't lose 30 pounds in a month like some other claim to have done. However I didn't have that much weight to lose in the first place, I was sort of midway in my diet, and we all know that the rate of fat loss tends to decline after a while.

However, I did see an improvement.

I went from losing between one and two pounds per week, with regular diet and exercise (basically working out more, eating healthier — nothing fancy), to losing between 3 and 4 pounds. One week I even lost 5. This may not sound incredible or shocking (or any other synonym of those), but it's actually doubling my weight loss rate. If I started taking it earlier, I would probably see the same results then.

In combination with dieting and exercise

Like all diet aids, this product comes with the disclaimer stating that results are best achieved with a reduced diet and with regular exercise. You may be wondering why you would even need to diet and exercise if this pill is supposed to do all the work.

Written by Janet R.

Thanks for stopping by! My name is Janet, and I'm the woman behind this blog you're now reading. My goal is to provide my readers (that's you!) with accurate, first-hand reviews of products, and information on weight loss and dieting in general.

For suggestions, tips or other inquires, please send me an email!

Garcinia Cambogia: Safe for Weight Loss?

In this Article

In this Article

In this Article

Garcinia cambogia, a tropical fruit also known as the Malabar tamarind, is a popular weight-loss supplement. People say it blocks your body's ability to make fat and it puts the brakes on your appetite. It could help keep blood sugar and cholesterol levels in check, too. You'll find it in bottles on the shelf at the store as well as mixed with other ingredients in diet products.

Does it live up to its hype? Maybe a little, but it might not be worth it.

How It Works

The active ingredient in the fruit's rind, hydroxycitric acid, or HCA, has boosted fat-burning and cut back appetite in studies. It appears to block an enzyme called citrate lyase, which your body uses to make fat. It also raises levels of the brain chemical serotonin, which may make you feel less hungry.

But actual weight loss results aren't impressive.

http://thetopweightlosspills.com.au is a great place to tons of diet supplement reviews and info on related topics.

By the end of the 12 week period, the HCA group had not exhibited a statistically significant difference in terms of percentage body fat loss or weight loss.

A review published in the Journal of Obesityfound that people who took garcinia cambogia in studies lost about 2 pounds more than people who didn't take it. The reviewers couldn't say for sure that the weight loss was because of the supplement. It could have been from the lower-calorie diet and exercise programs the people in the studies typically followed. Better studies are needed to find out if HCA really helps people lose a lot of weight and keep it off.

Type 2 Diabetes and High Cholesterol

Garcinia cambogia may make it easier for your body to use glucose, the sugar your cells need for energy. Mice that got garcinia cambogia in one study had lower insulin levels than mice that didn't. That's another reason, besides weight loss, that people with diabetes are interested in it. However, if you're taking garcinia cambogia along with a medication to control your blood sugar, your glucose could get dangerously low.

Some research has found that garcinia cambogia can also improve cholesterol levels, lowering triglycerides and LDL (the "bad" cholesterol) and raising HDL (the "good" cholesterol). But you shouldn't use it if you're already on a prescription for your cholesterol.

Possible Side Effects

When you take garcinia cambogia, you might get:

In 2009, the Food and Drug Administration warned everyone to stop using a weight-loss product that contained garcinia cambogia because some people taking it got serious liver problems. The product had other ingredients, too, so it's not clear that garcinia cambogia was to blame. While some research suggests the supplement is safe for your liver, other research says no.

Garcinia cambogia may interact badly with:

You definitely don't want to use it when you're pregnant or nursing, or if you have kidney or liver problems. It is possible that manic symptoms may emerge as a side effect.

To Buy or Not to Buy

Since study results are mixed, you should talk with your doctor to help you decide if taking garcinia cambogia is a good idea. Even if it's safe, it may not help you lose much weight. It's probably wiser to spend your money on healthy food or an exercise DVD.

Onakpoya, I. Journal of Obesity, 2011.

NYU Langone Medical Center: "Weight Loss Aids."

Byrne, S. Consumer Reports, March 24, 2014.

Wielinga, P.Y. American Journal of Physiology, June 1, 2005.

Leonhardt, M. Nutrition, October 2004.

Hayamizu, K. Fitoterapia, April 2003.

Preuss, H. Nutrition Research, January 2004.

Preuss, H. Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism, May 2004.

Preuss, H. International Journal of Clinical Pharmacology Research, February 2005.

Drugs.com: "Garcinia (hydroxycitric acid)."

Kim, Y. World Journal of Gastroenterology, Aug. 7, 2013.

Stohs, S. Toxicology Mechanisms and Methods, November 2010.

Clouatre, D. World Journal of Gastroenterology, Nov. 28, 2013.

Marquez, F. Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition, Issue 7, 2012.

Medscape: "Leukotriene Receptor Antagonists."

Garcinia Cambogia Review: What You Need To Know

What's Inside This Guide

What’s all the fuss about? Well, this fruit rind extract has been touted as a revolutionary way to lose fat, tone up and suppress those cravings all in one natural supplement. With virtually no side effects, not like the awful buzz of too much caffeine or the nauseous feeling that many appetite suppressants can bring, this supplement was featured on the Dr Oz show, where his team of dedicated professionals explained just how this new pill could help the body to use its excess fat stores AND block the ability to build new fat reserves whilst reducing the stress level cortisone.

So if you’re like me, and hold your excess weight around your middle, this could be the perfect solution. But, the reviews out there have been mixed with some people seeing good results and others seeing very little indeed. Could it be that this secret ingredient is nothing more than a marketing ploy, or are we being cheated by unscrupulous companies while we chase our dreams of a tighter, more toned body? I thought I’d check out GCE from my favorite store and see whether this really is a miracle weight loss supplement.

What is Garcinia Cambogia?

Before we get to the supplement, dosage, side effects and so on, I thought I’d include a little information about the source of the supplement.

Ceci est important car les individus avec une graisse corporelle élevée ont généralement moins d’adiponectine par rapport aux personnes minces qui ont des niveaux plus élevés d’adiponectine.

Garcinia Cambogia Extract is taken from the rind of the malaban tamarind fruit, a fruit native to South East Asia and India. It has been used medicinally and in food preparation in its native home for centuries, because it has been said to boast the following properties:

  • Souring agent, used in traditional Indian or South East Asian hot and sour curries[1]
  • Used for bowel problems and rheumatism[2]
  • Contains HCA (Hydroxycitric Acid) which has been under the spotlight for weight loss
  • Food preservative, coloring agent and curing agent
  • Used as a carmative to prevent or expel excess gas formed in the GI tract[3]

How is Garcinia Cambogia linked to weight loss?

Garcinia Cambogia is said to boost weight loss in two different ways. Firstly, it blocks the enzyme in the liver that is responsible for the default function of converting sugar and carbs to fat. So instead of the fat cells getting plumper, GCE ‘plugs’ the fat cells and directs any sugar and carbs to the energy stores to be burnt off. The body is processing less fat and is under less stress, so less cortisol (the belly fat-creating hormone) is produced. The second way that it works is by sending signals to the brain that release more serotonin, our happy hormone, and this happiness stops us craving stress foods like sugar, carbs and salty foods and could have a positive impact on appetite suppression. For more information about how Garcinia Cambogia works, please visit my review of the Dr Oz show.

About Garcinia Cambogia and its clinical studies

Several clinical studies have been undertaken to assess the efficacy of Garcinia Cambogia. At the moment the research is a little patchy and generally the medical community recommends more testing. I’ve written a longer article focused on Garcinia Cambogia research and clinical trials, but have included a summary right here for you:

  • In a four week trial[4], 150 obese subjects saw a significant, dose-dependent decrease in weight, LDL cholesterol and triglycerides, and an improvement in good cholesterol
  • In an eight week trial[5], 40 subjects saw an increase in weight loss against the placebo group
  • In a 12 week trial[6] with a reduced calorie diet, the group lost nearly three times as much weight as the placebo group
  • In a 4 week trial[7] with a reduced calorie diet, 89 mildly overweight women saw an increase in weight loss against the placebo group, but noted no discernible change to appetite
  • In an eight week trial[8] with a low fat diet and at least 64oz water consumption per day, 54 overweight subjects lost an average of 11.2lb per person
  • In an eight week trial[9] with a low fat diet and moderate (three times per week) exercise, 60 obese subjects saw a greater weight loss and reduction of appetite than the placebo group
  • In a 16 week trial[10] with a low fat diet and moderate exercise, all 39 subjects saw a reduction in belly fat and gained none of it when given a placebo for four weeks

Go to any medical site and they will be the first to say that the supplement and ingredients such as HCA need a ton more research. It’s the same with any new herbal supplement I guess. But the research that’s taken place to date is certainly encouraging.

Is It Trusted And Safe To Use?

Genuine Garcinia Cambogia has been noted to have been ‘well tolerated’ for up to 12 weeks in human trials. Whilst this is a little vague, it means that there are generally few adverse reactions. Be sure to read the ‘who should take Garcinia Cambogia’ section below, for a list of who should avoid the supplement.

Who Is Garcinia Cambogia For?

Being a natural supplement, there are few people that should avoid taking Garcinia Cambogia. However, until more research has been undertaken, it is recommended that the following people should avoid it, or use it under medical supervision:

  • Patients with diabetes (high blood sugar) or hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) should avoid the supplement
  • Patients taking any medication that affect blood sugar should use Garcinia Cambogia under medical supervision
  • Patients with a high risk or history of rhabdomyolysis (a potentially fatal disease involving the degeneration of skeletal muscle) should use Garcinia Cambogia under medical supervision
  • Patients taking statins, should exercise caution as the combined medicines may increase the risk of rhabdomyolysis
  • Those with Alzheimer’s or other forms of dementia should avoid Garcinia Cambogia because of the theoretical possibility of forming acetylcholine in the brain
  • Those trying to conceive, pregnant or breastfeeding should avoid until further scientific evidence can be undertaken

For my full article on Garcinia Cambogia, including dosage and potential side effects, please click here.

My Favorite Garcinia Supplement?

Once you’ve decided that you want to try Garcinia Cambogia, the most important element is finding the right supplier.

This is why a lot of persons are not getting positive results.

I’m not pushing any particular brand as it can be difficult to know whether a brand has been replicated and is not in fact genuine. I know of at least two well-known doctors/celebs that have had to put out alerts to their users saying that they are NOT endorsing a particular brand of Garcinia Cambogia, as there are a lot of unscrupulous companies out there selling fake or poor quality goods. I strongly recommend this brand at Amazon. After buying from them, I received great customer support and they were able to provide proof that their Garcinia Cambogia had been tested by a third party lab.

In general, I would say:

  • Use a trusted brand or store like Amazon
  • Read online reviews about your chosen brand carefully
  • Check the small print and reviews if you choose a ‘money back guarantee’ option, make sure that people that have returned the product for whatever reason have actually got refunds
  • Choose a supplement that has at least 50% HCA
  • Choose a supplement that contains minerals such as potassium and chromium, as these seem to have better reviews online
  • Choose a supplement that contains at least 600mg per day
  • Choose a supplement free from fillers or binders

Taking Garcinia Cambogia

I chose a supplement to try from my local and trusted health food store, and took 500mg three times per day.

**ULTRA-IMPORTANT** It’s critical that you take the supplements on an empty stomach, around 30-60 minutes before a meal. Food will interact with the supplement and reduce its efficacy. Also, I’m not sure of the science behind this, but I recall one study saw fewer results because the subjects were on a high fiber diet. Somehow that interfered, so eat a balanced healthy diet rich in vegetables, fruit, lean meats and good fats.

I took a supplement that also contained potassium, because I trusted Dr Oz!! I didn’t take any additional extracts as I wanted to see what this supplement did on its own.

So I took the pills three times a day, on an empty stomach. Unlike some supplements I’ve taken, I had no nausea or restlessness, you know like those buzzy caffeine pills. After drinking each one with a big glass of water, it’s common sense that an hour later you’ll be less hungry than you were, but my appetite was definitely more satiated than if I’d just had water.

The results were pretty much from day one, I was less hungry and ate slightly smaller meals, but the biggest effect I saw was in the type of food I wanted and the impact on my snacking. I know that my excess weight is down to my continual grazing, I eat pretty healthy but I can’t sleep unless I’ve had a full carb-loaded meal. And – ladies – at THAT time of the month I have an insatiable appetite for candy, chocolate, crisps, crackers…you name it! But in the three months that I took Garcinia Cambogia, my cravings all but disappeared. I ate when I was hungry (such a novelty for me, usually eating without even being aware of it) and saw the weight come off almost instantly.

I’ll be honest, we’re not talking total body transformations or anything. But I had stubborn belly fat that all types of exercise and diet had failed to get rid of for good. I guess I was carrying an extra 10lb over my ideal weight, and the majority of that was round my stomach. Garcinia Cambogia seemed to target that fat exclusively, which was a win-win for me as I didn’t want to lose any from my bust or butt. So in three months I lost around 9lb, but it was all from where I wanted it to go, and with no discernible change to my diet or exercise regime. I’m pretty fit so kept up the jogging and yoga, and it all seemed to work in harmony! I’ve now got a tighter waistline and am eating ‘mindfully’ for the first time in a hundred years!!

The million dollar question: Does Garcinia Cambogia work?

For me, it definitely worked. I saw reduced cravings to snack, and when I did eat, I was fuller faster, and on better quality foods. During my time of the month, I had little to no cravings. In fact, one time I went to the cinema and usually gorge on popcorn, but I only dipped in and out of this time (my husband was cursing me as he ended up eating it all!).

That said, it will only work if it’s a genuine product with a minimum 50% HCA. There are a lot of stores or vendors out there selling inferior products, which is why, in my mind, some people aren’t seeing the results they hoped.

What’s great about Garcinia Cambogia?

  • Natural supplement based on fruit used commonly for centuries
  • Helps curb cravings for sugar/salt/carbohydrates
  • Can boost weight loss, best used in conjunction with a healthy diet and moderate activity
  • No horrible side effects like nausea or headaches
  • Endorsed by doctors, models and celebrities
  • Cheap, compared to many supplements

Anything not so great?

  • Some people have seen minimal results – I say you can’t eat everything and expect to lose weight!
  • Some people have seen no results – I keep saying it, but check you’re buying from a reputable source and that the supplement contains at least 50% HCA
  • Can’t be used by those with blood sugar issues (see my full Side Effects of Garcinia Cambogia report)

What others are saying about Garcinia Cambogia?

I’ve researched many sources of Garcinia Cambogia users to bring you a consolidation of the most frequent opinions.

A later study by Dr Sinclair published in 2016 looked at the effects on health of long term (12 months) administration of NMN on mice (23).

In summary, there have been a lot of people ripped off and for them, they’ve lost money and not seen any results. For those that have bought reputable brands, they’ve seen moderate results which have been optimized by a healthy diet and moderate activity. Here are the views:

  • “I dropped from 13.5% to 11% body fat in time for my beauty show.”
  • “I have been taking for 2 weeks and have lost 8lbs, I love it!”
  • “I have been taking Garcinia Cambogia for 2 months and have lost 10lbs.”
  • “I have been taking it for two weeks and don’t see an extraordinary change, just 3lbs in two weeks.”
  • “After 1 week, I was surprised by the dramatic results…my energy levels were up and I wasn’t even hungry…after the fifth week my results were shocking. I lost an unbelievable 23lbs.”
  • “I’ve been taking it for a week and gained 3lbs!”
  • “Never buy from a site that appeared 1 hour after the Dr Oz show.”
  • “Took for a month and no weight loss”
  • “I purchased mine at GNC after talking to the sales person. She said her husband lost 60 lbs but she has only lost 10, but she admitted he works out more.”

My opinion: A summary review of Garcinia Cambogia

It’s not often you can find something that helps you lose weight without changing your diet or exercise habits, but Garcinia Cambogia seems to do just that. I made no changes but saw a drop of 9lb over my trial period, I’m now down to my ideal weight and have lost it all from my belly. I bought from a store I trusted, and went for a supplement with over 50% HCA, and it really worked, particularly in curbing my grazing and snacking. As with any diet supplement, there will be rogue dealers out there so always check reviews before buying online, use recommended products or buy via your trusted store. Here’s to the body you’ve always wanted!

[4] Girola M, De Bernardi M, Contos S, et al. Dose effect in lipid-lowering activity of a new dietary integrator (chitosan), Garcinia combogia extract and chrome. Acta Toxicol Ther . 1996;17(1):25-40.

[5] Soni MG, Burdock GA, Preuss HG, Stohs SJ, Ohia SE, Bagchi D. Safety assessment of (-)-hydroxycitric acid and Super CitriMax, a novel calcium/potassium salt. Food Chem Toxicol . 2004;42(9):1513-1529.

[6] Thom E. A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of a new weight-reducing agent of natural origin. J Int Med Res . 2000;28(5):229-233.

[7] Mattes RD, Bormann L. Effects of (-)-hydroxycitric acid on appetitive variables. Physiol Behav . 2000;71(1-2):87-94.

[8] Lau FC, Bagchi M, Sen C, Roy S, Bagchi D. Nutrigenomic analysis of diet-gene interactions on functional supplements for weight management. Curr Genomics . 2008;9(4):239-251

[9] Lau FC, Bagchi M, Sen C, Roy S, Bagchi D. Nutrigenomic analysis of diet-gene interactions on functional supplements for weight management. Curr Genomics . 2008;9(4):239-251

[10] Hayamizu K, Ishii Y, Kaneko I, et al. Effects of Garcinia cambogia (hydroxycitric acid) on visceral fat accumulation: A double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial. CurrTher Res Clin Exp . 2003;64(8):551-567.